Herb Infused Grilled Pizza

The other day it was 100 degrees and I craved pizza.  As I looked at my cat huffing and puffing in a shady corner of the apartment, I knew turning on the oven would be cruel. I’d already tried grilling pizza on our gas grill once. It looked and tasted like lightning hit it. Practice makes perfect, so I gave it a second shot. Wow, I think I’ll make my pizza this way all the time going forward. The grill gives the dough a slightly woody and charred taste, very reminiscent of pizza baked in brick ovens.

*************

DOUGH (makes enough for 2 pizzas, I usually freeze the other half for later use)

  • 1 c of warm water
  • 2 TBSP of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 TSP of wine
  • 1 TBSP of honey
  • 3 cups of flour (all white, or half – white, half wheat, as you prefer)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of instant or rapid rise-yeast
  • 3 sprigs of rosemary

1. Mix wet ingredients together.

2. Mix dry ingredients together. Remove rosemary leaves from sprig and mix into dry ingredients.

3. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix with a wooden spoon (and your hands, if necessary) until you form a ball.

4. Knead the dough for about 3 – 5 minutes on a lightly floured surface.

5. Wash out your original bowl, to cut down on dishes, oil it with a little EVOO, place the dough ball in the bowl and cover in plastic wrap. Let the dough rise in a dark, warm area for about  1 h – 1 h 30 m. Dough is ready when you  press two fingers about 1/2 inch into it and the impression remains.

6. Flatten the dough and let it rise for another 10 – 15 m. Roll/flatten dough into a circle, triangle, rectangle– any shape you’d like.

While your dough is rising you can prepare your sauce. I like my sauce thick and flavorful. I’ve made sauce from scratch before and it’s really easy, however, I usually prefer this quick and easy method.

***************

SAUCE

  • 1 small can of tomato concentrate
  • 1/3 can of water
  • 2 TSP oregano (more if you like oregano, I love oregano)
  • 10 freshly chopped basil leaves or 2 TSP dry basil
  • crushed red pepper and a little salt to taste
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced

1.Mix all ingredients, taste  to adjust.

2. Top the pizza with your favorite toppings, I chose mozzarella and basil leaves.

3. To grill the pizza, cover the rack with aluminum, preheat your grill on low. Place dough on aluminum and cook until light-medium brown (a little charring is normal). Slide the pizza out on aluminum, flip it and place toppings on the browned side. Return pizza to grill, cook until dough is light-medium brown. If your cheese hasn’t melted, turn off the grill and leave the pizza inside a few minutes, so the trapped heat will do the rest of the work. (Alternatively, you could prepare the pizza in your oven. I put my oven on the highest setting and let it bake for about 7 – 10 minutes.)

The dough has a slightly sweet taste, complemented by the subtle touch of rosemary, while the sauce is quite rich, tangy and in my case slightly spicy.

Leave a Reply

