Perfectly Imperfect Brownies a la Blueberry Mascarpone Frosting

I always loved celebrating the 4th back at home. Walking around in my red, white and blue, watching the fireworks  in an overcrowded park, going to multiple barbecues in one day. It’s a ritual I truly miss. I’ve been in Switzerland for over 4 years now and it’s still weird waking up and realizing the 4th is well, just that, the 4th.

To celebrate, I put out my little flag in the garden and planned a simple dinner menu. I wanted to make a dense chocolate cake with mascarpone frosting and scatter it with strawberries and blueberries. Since I forgot to pick up blueberries from the store, I asked my husband if he could grab some on his way home. Ironically, just as he was approaching the blueberries, an elderly couple grabbed the last pack. What are the chances!? I tried to convince him to offer them double the price, to loudly declare “oh no, what will my little ones do without their blueberries tonight (we don’t have kids)”, or convince them why he needed them more. Being much more rational than me, he suggested frozen blueberries.

The plan was for me to make the dessert and for him to take care of all things grilled.

In my haste, however, I started whipping up brownies,  which apparently, I do so often I can put my brain on autopilot and forget I wanted to make chocolate cake. Off to a great start right?! My brownies are always somewhat of a beautiful mess, taste amazing but look a bit unstable. On top of that, I realized my husband purchased frozen blueberry and raspberry compote. When I laid eyes on them, they were much more violet/black than blue. So what started out as my plan to make a moist chocolate cake, topped with themed fruit, turned into this:

You know what in the end, I felt this was a much more patriotic tribute to the US, not perfect, but still a wonderful, beautiful (and delicious) place to be.

****************************

BROWNIES

2 ounces of extra dark chocolate

8 TBSP of unsalted butter

2 eggs

3/4 c flour

pinch of salt

1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

1 tsp of baking powder

1. Melt chocolate and butter on low heat, stirring occasionally.

2. Transfer melted mixture to a bowl, stir in sugar, then stir in eggs, one at a time.

3. In a separate bowl mix dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, and salt), add mixture to the chocolate. Stir in the vanilla.

4. Scrap the batter into a well-oiled baking pan. I used a springform dish but recommend an 8 inch baking pan.

***************************

(BLUEBERRY) MASCARPONE FROSTING

1 cup of mascarpone

3 TBSP of powdered sugar

2 TBSP of room temperature unsalted butter

(optional) 2 – 3 TBSP of blueberry juice (I used the liquid from the frozen compote, you could blend or mush blueberries and use remaining the liquid)

1. Beat mascarpone, sugar, and butter, until well blended.

2. Add blueberry juice, this will give it a hint of blueberry taste and a light purplish color. Place mixture in fridge for about 30 minutes and then serve on top of brownies with fruit, if desired.

The brownies are dense and chewy. The frosting is, creamy, not so-sweet, and oh so refreshing.

Hope you all had a wonderful forth!

Leave a Reply

