Curried Carrot Soup

When I go grocery shopping with my husband and reach for anything large, green and leafy, he tends to raise his eyebrow and declare “don’t you think we’ve selected enough vegetables.” I know he’s typically happy with a fridge full of carrots, potatoes, peppers, peas and occasionally broccoli. Anything outside of those vegetables, he deems suspicious. As a result, I tend to see every vegetable as a chance to open up his palate and leave him begging for a second round of Swiss chards, this hasn’t happened…yet. Luckily for my husband, this summer, my small garden supplied me with an abundance of carrots.

Last week, I wanted to make a hearty, spiced vegetable soup. I decided to use up some of my carrots and make a curried carrot soup. This soup is delicious. It has wonderful texture (not chunky, but not smooth) and a sweet, spicy taste (but not overly spicy). It pairs nicely with naan or bread, but  is also a great stand-alone soup.

****************************

Ingredients

  • 3 cups soup stock
  • 1 lb of carrots
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 medium potatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 fennel, roughly chopped, optional
  • 1/2 c lentils
  • 1/4 c cream or milk, optional (could also be delicious with coconut milk)
  • season to taste with salt, pepper and curry ( I used about 1 1/2 TBSP of curry)
  • parsley, optional
  • 3 TBSP olive oil
  1. Chop onion (and fennel). Sauté  in olive oil for about 3 minutes over medium – high heat.
  2. Add soup stock to onion mixture and bring to a boil.
  3. Roughly chop the carrots, cube the potatoes ( I didn’t peel my carrot, as the skin is packed with nutrients)
  4. Add carrots and potatoes to soup stock, reduce heat, cover and allow to cook on over low-medium heat.
  5. Cook lentils according to instructions. I boiled mine in water (3:1) for about 30 minutes, then drained the water from the beans.
  6. After about 30 – 40 minutes, or when carrots and potatoes are tender, add the lentils to the soup. Blend soup with a hand mixer or blender until it reaches a choppy consistency.
  7. Add milk/cream if you wish, stir soup, season, allow to simmer for about 5 minutes, so all the flavors can blend.

There you have it a yummy, a simple soup packed with nutrients, vitamins and protein. Garnish it with chopped parsley or the entire parsley leaf. If you’re like my Swiss husband who puts cheese on everything, garnish it with grated Gruyère (it’s actually quite tasty with this soup).

Leave a Reply

