Spicy Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup

You will learn two truths about me from today’s recipe and post.

1. Sometimes I get occasional bouts of laziness. So lazy that I don’t even want to chew my food. That’s awful right? Usually, my dinner solution to those kind of days is soup. Soup is so delightful! I’m always so mesmerized by eating slurping down spoonfuls of colorful, pureed food.

The second truth is somewhat of an identity crisis…
2. I’ll just put it out there. I don’t own a FRILLY APRON!! There, I said it! I’ve been on the hunt for one for some time. I have this image of the ideal frilly apron in my head, but never found one that met the image. It’s a lovely turquoise apron, with a small tracing of cream-colored lace, it has a few frills and ruffles, but not too many and a delicate sweetheart neckline. That’s a rough description, I won’t bore you with the details, since I’ve already bored you with my branding dilemma. Gingham Apron didn’t have as nice a ring to it.

So now that I’ve officially introduced myself as an occasionally lazy,  infantile, non-frilly apron owning,  soup fanatic, I present you with my answer to the following question. What does one do with loads of over-ripe tomatoes from the garden? Roasted tomato soup and while I’m at it, why not throw in some chili peppers (the ones in my garden haven’t turned red yet), basil and cream. I’m a fan of basil and a little spice. This soup is thick, smooth, flavorful and hearty.

********************************************************

Ingredients

  • app. 2 lbs of tomatoes (I used a mixture of heirloom, vine and plum – This would also work with canned tomatoes.)
  • 2 chili peppers (optional. Reduce to 1 chili pepper if you’re worried about it being too spicy. I put two, because my chili peppers haven’t ripened. They are still spicy, but not super spicy.)
  • 1 leek, mainly the white and light green part, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • olive oil
  • 2 TBSP of freshly chopped basil
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1 cup soup stock
  • salt & pepper to taste

I have to say many recipes call for removing tomato skins and seeds. I don’t mind an occasional tomato skin or seed in my soup, I barely notice it. You could remove both if you’d like. I’d suggest you remove the seeds before roasting and remove the peel after roasting or used canned. I think it tastes delicious with and without, so it’s really a win-win situation.  Also, I did not remove the seeds from my chili peppers, because I wanted the added spiciness.

  1. Preheat oven to 450 F (abt 230 C)
  2. Place your tomatoes and chili pepper on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush a little olive oil over everything and roast them in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes. Alternatively, you could cut the tomatoes in half, place it flesh-side up, brush with olive oil and roast.
  3. Sauté onion and leeks in olive oil (abt. 2 TBSP) for about 5 – 10 minutes on a medium heat until they are softer in texture.
  4. Add in your roasted vegetables  and basil. Allow to cook on medium heat for about 5- 10 minutes
  5. Add in your soup stock and cook on medium-high heat. Stir and push down on tomatoes to help break them up. Allow the ingredients to cook for 10 minutes.
  6. Turn the stove off and puree the mixture until smooth. Pour in cream. Stir. Allow to cook another 5 minutes on low-medium heat, so that all the ingredients can settle. Enjoy with a nice hearty bread, pita, crackers or simply by itself. My husband, as usual, added chunks of Gruyère to his, as he does with all soups, you might like that too.

Leave a Reply

