Split Pea Purée

Happy New Year everyone! Hope you’re off to a lovely start. Personally, I think this year will be  just wonderful! Especially since I lived to tell my survival story (i.e. Dec. 21, 2012). I’ve started the year with only a couple of resolutions, the fewer I have, the fewer I break! One of my resolutions is to consume more vegetables and fruits, especially in a liquified or blended form. If you follow my blog, you know this is an easy one for me, considering I’m fascinated by puréed food.

Here’s  a delicious purée I whipped up last year around the holidays. I can’t really call it a soup, because it’s so thick. I made this with Moroccan Country Bread. Delish! Feel free to abandon your spoon and shovel large amounts into your mouth with your bread.

One thing to note, this recipe takes about 1.5 hrs. It primarily involves waiting  reading a book, drooling over other bloggers recipes, learning the Gangnam style dance, etc., while the beans cook.

What you need.

Recipe adapted from M. Bittmann’s How to Cook Everything.

2 c green split peas

6 c of stock or water ( I used my special trash stock)

*2 potatoes (works as a thickening agent)

2 onions

salt, a little pepper and curry (to taste)

extra virgin olive oil

How you make it.

  1. 1. Sauté onion in oil on medium heat for about 5 minutes or until translucent in color.
  2. Pour in stock and peas, bring to a boil. Turn heat to low, cover partly, stirring occasionally.
  3. Peel and quarter your potatoes, add them to the pot about 30 minutes after the peas have cooked.
  4. Once peas and potatoes are soft (about 60 minutes total), purée with a blender, season.
  5. Serve with a warm bread or croûtons and enjoy!

If you don’t want a thick purée, consider using 1 or no potatoes.

Leave a Reply

