Baked Turnip Casserole

I take part in a vegetable cooperative. Every week, I pick up a bag of seasonal vegetables and sometimes fruits assembled by  local farmers. This system has introduced a lot of veggies that I’ve never cooked before. It’s also reintroduced many vegetables that my Mom used to cook for me as a child that I for some reason no longer buy as an adult. Take turnips for instance, in southern cuisine, they’re pretty much a staple, used to make delicious dishes such as stewed turnips and turnip greens.

I’ve received a nice supply of turnips from my veggie coop. They are such a lovely and welcomed addition to my fridge! I enjoy tossing them in salads, as they add a nice crunch and tangy taste. They are a nice alternative to dishes one would traditionally make with potatoes. I like them raw, mashed and recently I discovered, I love them baked and slightly drenched in cream and Gruyère cheese. Well, anything cooked with cream and Gruyère can pretty much taste like a piece of heaven. Hope you enjoy this short, simple recipe:

 

What you need.

4 – 5 medium-sized turnips, thinly sliced

cream (enough to cover the bottom of your glass baking dish)

3/4 c of grated Gruyère

2 -3 cloves of minced garlic

couple of pinches of nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

How you make it.

Preheat your oven to 350

Slice up your turnips and stack them in an oven-proof dish.

Mix up your milk, nutmeg and garlic and pour the mixture all over the turnips.

Season turnips and sprinkle with cheese.

Bake 15 minutes at 350, increase heat to 400 and bake 15 minutes further, or until tender and golden brown.

Enjoy with a nice colorful salad.

Leave a Reply

