Potato Frittata with Scallions and Cheese

My good friend Kate and I both heart  Deb Perelman’s food blog, Smitten Kitchen. I was thrilled when Kate gave me The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook for my birthday!

I absolutely love this cookbook, it’s wonderful and so refreshing. It includes wonderful tips, cute and funny personal stories about the author and her family. It’s written in a very intimate way. At times, you feel as if you’re sitting at a bar stool in her tiny Manhattan kitchen, while she walks you through the recipe step by step. This books gives me a case of teeny-tiny kitchen envy– I love small spaces, but that’s a story for another day! My favorite part of the book is the simple, colorful and vibrant pictures, the images just pop right off the pages.

Last week, I adapted her recipe for Potato Frittata with feta and scallions. She listed this recipe under breakfast and I made this for dinner. This would definitely be a big hit at brunch. It’s very filling, so have your appetite ready or a few hungry stomachs around the dinner table, if you try this recipe. The original recipe calls for bacon and since I don’t like bacon, I excluded it. Additionally, she used feta, but I used Gruyère, a little ricotta and added mushrooms.

You can totally make this without meat and use vegetables and cheese. I actually was going to make it without any meat, but my husband suggested throwing in the leftover ground beef we had in the fridge. The final result was a rich, protein packed frittata with lots of flavor. I paired it with a salad to lighten things up a bit. My husband loved this dish, I think it had all the makings of Swiss food that he’s used to: potatoes, cheese, eggs, and meat.

Serves 3 – 4

What you need.

  • Olive oil
  • 4 medium large potatoes, diced
  • salt, black pepper
  • 1/4 lb or 115 g rams of cooked ground beef (optional)
  • 2 scallions, finely sliced
  • 5 -6 mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 c of Gruyère or cheese of choice
  • 1/4 c of ricotta (optional)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 – 2 TBSP of milk or cream

How you make it.

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 F/ 200 C.
  2. Peel and dice potatoes into small cubes.
  3. Pour about 1 – 2 TBSP of olive oil into a baking pan or oven proof skillet.
  4. Toss the potatoes in the oil and season generously with salt and pepper (and a pinch of nutmeg if you like).
  5. Place in the oven and roast for about 25- 30 minutes or until they’re almost cooked.
  6. While your potatoes are cooking, chop up your vegetables and prepare your cheese (and prepare your meat if you’re using it. I had a small amount of day old ground beef, so just put it on the side).
  7. Beat eggs, ricotta and cream, season lightly/to taste with salt and pepper.
  8. When your potatoes are light brown and almost done roasting, take them out of the oven and cover with your vegetables and cheese.
  9. Pour eggs on top, cover the dish with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the foil and bake another 10 minutes, or until the eggs set in the center.

Remember, bring your appetite for this dish, because it’s very nutritious and filling! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Potato Frittata with Scallions and Cheese

Leave a Reply

